Tuesday, March 11, 2014

For trainers, will this exercises give good results?




fmuhd1995


in a week, for tuesdays, thursdays, saturdays and sundays, i do dumbells 3.5kg max rep, 3 sets. squat, max rep, 3 sets and I would like to do sit ups but don't know the perfect reps to do. but all these workouts in these 4 days. i would go to school and come back with my bike, like about 2km each. is that enough for cardio? i would like to make muscles in the stomach, biceps and throw away thigh fats and replace it with muscles. my body is like a little smaller on the upper body and a little bit bigger on the lower body. need some help and maybe some tips, including the sit up. please and thank you.


Answer
Your enthusiasm and apparent dedication is admirable. However, it appears you are going about this all wrong and all your hard work will be counterproductive rather than productive.

You need to be aware that exercise is a catabolic activity which means it destroys muscle. Exercise tears muscle down. However, the body, as a biological organism, senses the destruction as a danger to survivial and therefore redoubles it's effort after repair of the damage to make the muscle stronger so that when presented by the same challenge, the muscle group is better able to meet the challenge.

An example would be when someone breaks an arm. Not only will your body heal the bone where the break took place, but at the place of the bone where the break occurs the bone structure will be stronger than before. But that does not mean you break your arm every day to make that part of the bone stronger and stronger. It takes much longer than a day for a broken bone to be repaired. The same is true for muscles. although admittedly muscles do not take as long as bones to repair.

The situation with muscles is not as extreme as with bones. But the analogy still holds true. You need to allow muscles time to repair and exercising on almost a daily basis as you do simply is self defeating and any progress you will make will be very slow and not anywhere near what your progress would be if you exercise correctly. Don't feel alarmed. This is a very common mistake made by many young people embarking on a program in stength conditioning.

I also sense that you have an unclear sense of what cardio means. Cardio has benefit only when there is sufficient resistance to involve some catabolic activity. It's unclear from your profile whether you live in Malaysia or New York. Even if you live in Malaysia, you should be able to order a book which I consider the best advise on muscle development. The name of the book is Body by Science by Dr. Dough McGuff. McGuff also has several lectures that can be found on You Tube. The information may seem a little tough to comprehend at first, but I encourage you to make the effort. It seems you are really enduring a great struggle to maintain your exercise routine. Use that same determination to try to understand McGuff's training advise. You will really benefit in the long run and others will admire your strength and your well built powerful muscular body.

To sum it up, your work outs need to be intense with as few as one set, no more than two sets. Maximum weight with no more than 8 to 10 reps. Have someone spot you so you don't hurt yourself. You need to wait at least four days of rest for each muscle group to recover before exercising again. This is true for doing sit ups as well. It's perfectly ok to extend the time of rest and recovery for as long as 7 to 10 days. You will need to develop patience in this regard but once you see your progress, it will seem wise and natural to you and you will no longer need to overcome your overeagerness to exercise more often.

If you continue your present exercise routine, I fear all you will accomplish is minimal progress, a lot of soreness and possibly being prone to nagging injuries.

What to do when getting a ticket due to riding bike on sidewalk on New York?




Jonathan


Today, I learned that riding the bike on the sidewalk is wrong. I just want to know what should I do right now (besides paying the fine, of course)
*If you have experience on the subject, better.
I need a detailed explanation of the whole process, please.
The officer only told me to send the fine payment via mail.
But I`ve done some research about it and some people go to court and the ticket says so, therefore, I`m sort of nervious about it.
By the way, I`m underage, graduated from High School and applying for college, and have never had problems with the law.
I just want to know what is better:
- Accept that I was guilty and pay the fine
- Have a chance in court to clean my history
On my research, I found this article:
âAC 19-176 - Riding bicycles on sidewalks is prohibited. Bicycles may be confiscated.
NOTE: Tickets for riding on the sidewalk fall under the jurisdiction of the Environmental Control Board (ECB). If you are given a ticket or summons that requires you to appear in criminal court instead, you should be able to get the ticket thrown out for lack of jurisdiction.

Does this mean that the summon shouldn`t be applied to my case because lack of jurisdiction?
Note: 19-176 is the violation number of my ticket
Let`s get this straight:
Asuming that this violation belongs to the Environmental Control Board (ECB) jurisdiction (Therefore, not valid as a summon), Do I still have to go to court? Or Can I chose just mail the fine payment?
Either way, would I be considered guilty? If I go to court and find myself not guilty, do I keep my history clean?



Answer
Go to court and argue it. It is your duty to choose the safest route and if that means sidewalk so be it. But you are not supposed to use the sidewalk as your personal velodrome endangering pedestrian. There has been several hit and run from bikes on pedestrians that resulted on dead. But you can make a point that using a whole line with your bike would not only be dangerous but will also cause more congestion. And you are not required to endanger yourself by riding in unsafe streets.

On the other hand check this: The jurisdiction for riding on the sidewalk is the "Environmental Control Board" So your ticket may be invalid.

âAC 19-176 - Riding bicycles on sidewalks is prohibited. Bicycles may be confiscated.
NOTE: Tickets for riding on the sidewalk fall under the jurisdiction of the Environmental Control Board (ECB). If you are given a ticket or summons that requires you to appear in criminal court instead, you should be able to get the ticket thrown out for lack of jurisdiction.

Also notice that: If there wasn't a bike lane or the bike line was not usable due to fixed or moving objects, you are not required to ride on one.

Bike Lanes
You are NOT required to ride in the bike lane.
â34 RCNY 4-12(p)(1) states that bicyclists should ride in usable bike lanes, unless they are preparing to turn, or are avoiding unsafe conditions (including but not limited to, fixed or moving objects, motor vehicles, bicycles, pedestrians, pushcarts, animals, surface hazards).

Q: Isn't this an overstatement of the law? It seems to me that the law says that bikes have to stay in bike lanes.
A: No. If you look at the full text of the statute it clearly grants cyclists the discretion to ride in the bike lane or not, according to whether the cyclist deems it safe. As safe, usable bike lanes are extremely rare in New York City, cyclists are not required to endanger themselves by riding in unsafe bike lanes.

Q: But- but- aren't you saying that cyclists can ride wherever they want whenever they want? That's crazy!
A: No. Cyclists are still required to follow all other applicable traffic laws, such as riding the right way on one-way streets (VTL 1127(a)), and exercising due care (VTL § 1146). They are not, however, required to ride in the bike lane if there is any reason not to.

Edit: Ask this question in Y!A legal




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

No comments:

Post a Comment